Wild

Wild

I first heard it as a whisper

Blowing on the edge of the wind

When I was young.

“Run barefoot and let the blades of grass tickle your toes.

Feel your feet sink into the warmth of freshly tilled garden soil

As you run with the breeze and chase fireflies at dusk.”

And the wild woman in me followed the voice…

Wild

The whisper became a longing,

Tethering from deep within my soul.

“Tempt fate,” it said.

“Be daring,” it laughed.

“Live hard,” it demanded.

“Love fully, but beware boys who will want to cage that free spirit and lock it away,” it warned.

Wild

It morphed into an innate craving,

Pulling me from day to day living to seek the mysteries on the mountains.

“Go to the top and stand on the edge,” it tempted,

Its gentle caress on my ear.

Wild

It calls to me to run through sweetly ripe fields of fescue and red clover,

And then to let fresh honeysuckle nectar drip on my tongue.

Wild tells a girl to taste the world and all its flavors.

Wild

It pulls a woman to sleep under stars

That look brilliant enough to lick down from the sky.

Wild takes me for a swim in the lakes at night,

Bare skin against water…It dares.

Wild

It tempts a woman to disappear once in a while

To find the secret soul changing alchemy deep in the woods.

It beckons and creates magic from moonbeams, starry skies, and sunsets fading onto water.

Wild

It is a howl deep inside that lures me to remote places.

“Look here.  Feel here.”

There is no alternate choice, only a calling.

Wild is my spirit.

My spirit is wild.

It is calling…

And the wild woman in me still follows the voice.

Jaime McMillan © Copyright 2020 All Rights Reserved

Jeremiah 33:3  “Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’”

Author: triplearrow

I am a 23 year veteran high school English teacher who helps promote positive citizenship through meaningful works of literature in the classroom. I grew up with my hands in the dirt, my feet in the water, and my spirit in the woods. I spend my free time reading, writing, and seeking unlikely adventures of physical and spiritual growth. I like to explore trails and mountains, seeking both physical challenge and spiritual enlightenment. I follow the path of three arrows: faith, hope, and love. I find that God meets us on the path we're traveling and gives us the grace we need to guide the way when the skies are too dark, the mountains too steep, and the paths too crooked.

Leave a comment